License to Carry
Texas Concealed Carry License Information
|REQUIREMENTS:||An applicant must:
*Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of Texas.
|FEES:||$40 for standard initial licenses and renewals.
$25 for initial licenses and renewals for honorably discharged military vets.
|VALID FOR:||5 years|
|PROCESSING TIME:||60 days|
|NON-RESIDENT CONCEALED CARRY LICENSES:||Out-of-state residents must supply a color copy, front and back, of a state driver’s license or ID card and a proficiency certificate not greater than 2 years old from a course approved by the Texas Dept. of Public Safety. Applications may be submitted online or via mail.|
|NAME/ADDRESS CHANGES:||You can make name and address changes online.|
|LOST/STOLEN LICENSES:||You can submit a request for a new license online. You will be issued a new license number for security reasons.|
|RESIDENCY CHANGES:||Moving to Texas and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply?
Texas issues resident and non-resident licenses, so you can apply for your license at any time. In order to apply for a resident license, you need to be a legal resident of Texas for six months or have relocated with the intent to establish residency in the state.
Moving from Texas and have a Texas resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your Texas license remains valid?
If a person with a Texas license to carry establishes residency in another state, the license is valid until it expires provided he or she submits the above referenced name/address change form.
Our LTC course is designed to provide civilians and military/LE personnel with the necessary knowledge and skills to obtain their License to Carry. The one-day course, which runs from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM, includes a shooting qualification, a lecture on self-defense law, and a written multiple-choice test. However, it is essential to note that participants must be proficient shooters as there is no hands-on firearms instruction in this course. If you need to improve your handling skills before taking the LTC course, we offer one-on-one and group classes on firearm safety and handling. Our classes are tailored to meet the needs of our clients and are designed to ensure that you feel confident and comfortable when handling your firearm.
When coming to our range, there are a few items you will need to bring with you. Firstly, a state-issued identification card is required. Additionally, you will need to bring your own handgun, as any caliber .22LR or greater is permitted, provided you feel comfortable handling it. However, if you do not have a handgun of your own, we can provide a rental gun at no additional cost. You will also need to bring 50 rounds of ammunition, although if you use one of our rental guns, you will need to purchase the ammunition from us. Finally, it is essential to wear eye and ear protection, which we have available for rent at no extra charge. By providing these items, we ensure that you can have a safe and enjoyable experience at our range.